Diagnosis

Not sure how many of you have been touched by or know somebody who has autism.

Pickle was diagnosed last week.

He is considered ‘mild-moderate’ on the spectrum. It’s part of who he is and I love him for it.

I noticed Pickle was different when he was about 14 months old and stopped hitting his mile stones and making ‘normal’ progress, especially with his speech & language, and social skills.

Suddenly the path I was sharing with all my mummy friends split off and started taking its own direction, and it was lonely and isolating as all Pickle’s friends zoomed on ahead and turned into little adults seemingly overnight!

All the while, everyone told me that Pickle was fine, that he would catch up. Boys are always a bit slower right? 😉

When Pickle was testing the boundaries as all toddlers do, I couldn’t get him to answer me, look at me or listen to what I was saying. I started thinking that I was a pretty terrible mum.

As it dawned on us all that we may have a little boy touched by autism, I realised that I was the one who needed to change, to adapt to this funny, intelligent, beautiful little boy who has the most amazing smile and addictive laugh in the world. As far as he’s concerned, it’s US who are strange and confusing with all our words, different faces and funny rules. He’s going to be living in a world where people will struggle to understand and relate to him. Even though logically, everything that he does, makes total sense!

We wouldn’t be where we are today without autism. The best scientists, physicians and pioneers of our age are usually on the spectrum. It gives individuals the drive and obsession to problem solve in a way that ‘mainstream’ people could never do. Without autism, the world we live in today would be very different. Much slower paced, less treatments for ill people, less technology.

Pickle is the best life teacher I could ever ask for. He has taught me patience, kindness, understanding and unrequited love. He has shown me that life doesn’t always work out how you plan. That’s ok. Life is a journey and we’re all travelling there together, even if our paths are not the same.

I’ve learned how to fight for what’s right and develop a thick skin as I will always have to push harder than the majority of other parents to give Pickle the best support, help and education that he needs.

Somebody said recently when I told them about the diagnosis, ‘I’m so sorry. Poor little buggar.’ I politely told them that although I appreciate the sentiment, Pickle hasn’t changed. He may now be classed as having a ‘disability’, but he is the same amazing, sweet, funny little boy he has always been. Please don’t ever feel sorry for him. It’s him who sees us as ‘strange’. There is nothing wrong with him, he just thinks differently to us. And who’s to say that we’re the ones who have it right? 😊

If you feel this status was unnecessary or an ‘overshare’ then you should probably hide me from your feed as I’m so SO proud of my Pickle, everything he has achieved and I’m so excited to see who he becomes in the future 😊 I used to think that people with special needs kids just said this… But I honestly would never change him.

Also we probably won’t have to ever queue up at theme parks again! Hooray! xx

Leave a Reply

